About protection of human rights and the lawful state

 

  •   I am convinced that the ideology of human rights protection  its that unique basis which can unit people independently from their nationality, political convictions, religion, position in a society               (The Memoirs, Volume 1,  p. 471)

 

 

  •  Our country should become a rule-of-law state in which nobody can dictate decisions of a judge or an investigator. We should become the country ruled by persuasion, not by persecution and violence All these things will become possible only when bases for revival of the totalitarian regime and of the uncontrolled state power will disappear

  •   I am convinced that under the conditions obtaining in our country a position based on morality and law is the most correct one, as corresponding to the requirements and possibilities of society. What we need is the systematic defense of human rights and ideals and not a political struggle, which would inevitably incite people to violence, sectarianism, and frenzy. (Sakharov speaks, New York, 1974, p.44).

  • We are living through a period of history in which decisive support of the principles of freedom of conscience, an open society, and the rights of man is an absolute necessity. The alternative is surrender to totalitarianism, the loss of all precious freedom, and political, economic, and moral gegradation.     (Appeal to the Parliaments of All Helsinki-Signatory States. Helsinki, September 1977).

  •  Religious liberty is an important part of the human rights struggle in a totalitarian state. The pervasive, often brutal persecution of churches and religious bodies that characterized the early years of Soviet rule has been replaced by more selective repression directed mainly against those religious institutions of a nonconformist temper, but curbs on worship affect all believers. (Memoirs. t.1, p.337).

  •  The public, nonviolent defense of human rights as these rights are proclaimed by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights of the United Nations is the ideology that can unite, and does unite now in our country within the framework of the democratic movement, people of different political convictions, national origins, and religious beliefs. (An interview to the newspaper Monde, August 1978).

  •  It is difficult to evaluate dissent numerically.  This isnt a party that gives out membership cards, and this isnt a chartered organization.   Numbers dont matter, what matters is the significance of the information that has been provided, and is being provided, to the world  by these self-denying people, and what matters is the revolution in perception caused by their actions that has occurred  in all countries of the world and in the world as a whole. (An interview to the newspaper Monde, August 1978)

  •  It would be wrong to say that the dissident movement did not exert a deep influence on people in the USSR, but this has been basically  moral rather than political influence Im convinced  that its extremely irresponsibly to strive for political cataclysms, revolutions and interventions in the modern  world riddled with contradictions Another matter is to try and influence individual moral awareness, to restore in people the belief in the power of a word and in their rights, to give them back their true history,  non-falsified history of their country. People who have dared to speak out loud what they think and feel, who have dared to lift their  voice against injustice these people are breaking the conspiracy of silence, of fear and of indifference, and in doing so they pave the way for the necessary democratic, pluralistic transformation in the huge, inert and corrupt country; the country drunk everyday on a cheap poisonous wine, going without meat and butter, and silently accepting both war in Afghanistan and unjust persecutions, court sanctioned and not.  Nevertheless, millions are secretly tuning their radios to catch foreign broadcasts that could tell them about their country and the world. While those who openly speak for the rights of others make great sacrifices. (Answers to questions of a correspondent of the Italian ANSA news Agency, April 1980)


                                   Back

О защите прав человека и правовом государстве

 

  • «Я убежден, что идеология защиты прав человека – это та единственная основа, которая может объединить людей вне зависимости от их национальности, политических убеждений, религии, положения в обществе …»

     (Воспоминания, т.1, с.471)

 

  • «Надо сделать нашу страну правовым государством, когда никто не сможет командовать судьей, следователем. … Мы обязаны стать страной убеждений, без преследования и насилия … Все это будет возможно только тогда, когда исчезнут основания для возрождения тоталитарного режима и бесконтрольной власти».

  • «Я убежден, что в условиях нашей страны нравственная и правовая позиция является самой правильной, соответствующей потребностям общества. Нужна планомерная защита человеческих прав и идеалов, а не политическая борьба, неизбежно толкающая на насилие, сектантство и бесовщину». (Предисловие к сборнику «Sakharov Speaks», Нью-Йорк, 1974).

  • «Сейчас мы переживаем такой момент истории, когда решительная поддержка принципов свободы убеждений, открытости общества, прав человека являются абсолютной необходимостью. Альтернатива – капитуляция перед тоталитаризмом, потеря всех ценностей свободы, политическая, экономическая и нравственная деградация».     (Обращение к парламентам всех стран, подписавших Заключительный Акт Конференции в   Хельсинки, 27 сентября 1977 г.).

  • «Задачи защиты свободы религии и прав верующих в СССР чрезвычайно актуальны и важны. Они занимают одно из центральных мест во всей проблеме прав человека как часть общей борьбы за свободу убеждений в тоталитарном государстве и благодаря массовому и нередко исключительно жестокому характеру религиозных преследований…».   (Воспоминания, т.1, с.471).

  • «Гласная, ненасильственная защита прав человека – так, как эти права провозглашены Всеобщей декларацией прав человека ООН – является той идеологией, которая может объединить и объединяет в нашей стране в рамках демократического движения людей разных политических убеждений, национальностей, верований».    (Интервью газете «Монд», август 1978).

  • «Трудно дать инакомыслию арифметическую оценку. Это не партия, где получают членский билет, и не организация с определенным уставом. Дело не в этом, а в значении той информации, которой эти самоотверженные люди снабжали и продолжают снабжать весь мир, а также в психологическом перевороте, который был вызван их деятельностью во всех странах и в мире в целом».    (Интервью газете «Монд», август 1978).

  • «Моральное, нравственное значение сформировавшегося в середине 60-х годов движения за права человека в СССР – при всей его малочисленности и подчеркнутой аполитичности – огромно. Оно изменило нравственный климат и создало духовные предпосылки для демократических изменений в СССР и для формирования идеологии прав человека во всем мире».    (Интервью газете Вашингтон Пост, февраль 1980).

  • «Неправильно, что диссидентское движение не оказало глубокого влияния на людей в СССР. Но это влияние носит не политический, а в своей основе нравственный характер … Я убежден, что предельно безответственно стремиться к политическим катаклизмам, к переворотам и интервенциям в современном противоречивом мире … Но совсем другое – активно влиять на нравственное самосознание людей, возвращать им веру в силу слова и права людей, возвращать им неискаженную историю их страны. … Люди, решившиеся громко сказать, что они думают и чувствуют, решившиеся поднять голос против несправедливости – разрывают заговор молчания, страха и равнодушия, и тем самым подготавливают почву для необходимых демократических, плюралистических преобразований в огромной инертной и развращенной стране – в стране, спиваемой дешевым ядовитым вином, сидящей без масла и мяса и молча принимающей Афганистан, судебные и бессудные расправы. Но все же миллионы тайно крутят ручки радиоприемников, ловя иностранные радиопередачи о своей стране и мире. Те же, кто открыто выступают за права людей идут на большие жертвы».    (Ответы на вопросы итальянского журналиста агентства АНСА, апрель 1980).

  • «Моим идеалом стало открытое плюралистическое общество с безусловным соблюдением основных гражданских и политических прав человека, общество со смешанной экономикой, осуществляющее научно регулируемый всесторонний прогресс. Я высказал предположение, что такое общество должно возникнуть как результат мирного сближения («конвергенции») социалистической и капиталистической систем и что в этом – главное условие спасения мира от термоядерной катастрофы». Открытое письмо Президенту Академии наук СССР А.П. Александрову. Горький, 20 октября 1980 г.


                                   Назад                Вперед